Please enter your username and email address. Get new password
Register Now

Jukasa News Update Thursday, April 6, 2016


Standing Rock says a third bank has now taken action to cease their investment in the Dakota Access Pipeline.
BNP Paribas announced they have sold their shares in the controversial pipeline due to human rights violations against the indigenous peoples whose territory it crosses.
So far BNP Paribas, ING and DNB have taken official action to divest in the pipeline.
Tribal Chairman David Archambault says Standing Rock is encouraged by the banks recognition of iminent harm to the Sioux people posed by the pipeline.

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency has expanded a recall of potentially contaminated Robin Hood All Purpose Flour for possibly being contaminated by the E.Coli virus.
The initial recall was issued on March 28 and only was sent to the western provinces. Now the Agency says that consumers across the country could be affected.
The affected product was sold in 10kg bags with an expiry date of April 17, 2018.
Officials say to discard the flour or take it back to the store where it was purchased.

Federal officials confirmed that Senator Lynn Beyak has been removed from the Senate Committee of Aboriginal People following national outcry.
Beyak refused to resign or apologize after she made comments about indigenous people forgetting the good that came from residential schools.
The Senator later was a member on a committee to hear the stories of survivors of residential schools and demanded a financial audit of band councils during the accounts.
Leader of the Conservative party Rona Ambrose confirmed in an interview with CBC that Beyak was removed and said there is no way to explain Beyak’s comments.
Ambrose said Beyak’s removal was just “the right thing to do”.

The Indigenous Music Award nominations have been announced with several going to Haudenosaunee artists.
Logan Starts came in with three nominations for his last album Goodbye Goldia.
DJ Shub was also received three nominations for best video, best radio single and best instrumental.
Kahnawake’s Brendt Thomas Diabo was also nominated for best radio single.
Derek Miller got a nomination for best producer.
And Jukasa’s own Layla Black recieved a nomination for IndiePOW as best radio program.
The Indigenous Music Awards will be held at the Manito Ahbee festival in Winnipeg this May.

0 thoughts on “Jukasa News Update Thursday, April 6, 2016”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *